APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE WITHIN

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

If you are planning to marry in Massachusetts, you may file your marriage intentions with any city/town clerk in the Commonwealth.

  • Both parties to a marriage must appear together at a City/Town Clerk's Office to file their Marriage Intentions and sign their intentions under oath.
  • Marriage Intentions must be filed at least three (3) full days prior to the wedding because Massachusetts has a three (3) day waiting period before the license can be issued.
  • The license will be valid for sixty (60) days from the date that the marriage intentions are filed with the clerk's office.
  • The fee for filing Intentions in Foxborough is $25.00.
  • You must be 18 years of age or older to file your marriage intentions.

Identification is not required unless the clerk questions your age eligibility to be married.

You do not have to be a resident of Foxborough to file your intentions in Foxborough.

Keep in mind that the town where you file your intentions is the ONLY town where your Marriage will be recorded. If you file in Foxborough, but marry in Mansfield, your marriage will be recorded ONLY in Foxborough.

LEGAL IMPEDIMENTS TO MARRIAGE

  • No man shall marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, sister, stepmother, grandfather's wife, grandson's wife, wife's mother, wife's grandmother, wife's daughter, wife's granddaughter, brother's daughter, father's sister or mother's sister. (MGL Chapter 207, Section 1.)
  • No woman shall marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, brother, grandmother's husband, daughter's husband, granddaughter's husband, husband's grandfather, husband's son, husband's grandson, brother's son, sister's son, father's brother or mother's brother. MGL Chapter 207, Section 2.)
  • A marriage contracted while either party has a former wife or husband (except as provided in Section 6 of 207 and in Chapter 208 of the Massachusetts General Laws.
  • A marriage of a person under the age of eighteen years, except as provided in Chapter 207, Section 25 of the Massachusetts General Laws is prohibited.